Miami Valley freshmen finally earn state titles


Kolodzik, Kelly two of nine from area to earn state titles.
COLUMBUS — Miami Valley School 106-pounder Matthew Kolodzik watched the final seconds of Cameron Kelly’s Division II state title match, then waited for the Bellbrook wrestler on the raised surface at the Schottenstein Center.

“We did it,” Kolodzik said to fellow 106-pounder Kelly as the longtime friends celebrated winning state titles Saturday as freshmen.

“This is what we have been dreaming of since we were 7 years old,” Kolodzik said after defeating Troy Christian’s Jarred Ganger 5-0 for the Division III title. “When it is something you have been dreaming of for so long, it is special when you both get there.”

Kolodzik and Kelly were two of nine are wrestlers to claim state titles.

Kolodzik used an early takedown for a 2-0 lead before icing the title in the waning moments to avenge a loss in the district semifinals.

“The night after I lost last week, I went for a run to clear my head and decided there was definitely something wrong with the way I was wrestling,” Kolodzik said. “I wouldn’t have won (tonight) without that loss. I had to get the first takedown. It got things going.”

Kelly yielded an early takedown, but got a quick reversal and backpoints to tie the match at 2-2 after the first period. The Eagle turned returning state runner-up Cody Burcher of Urichsville Claymont in the second period for a 5-2 lead and went on to a 7-2 win.

Kelly became Bellbrook’s first state champ in any sport. “All the work and all the training trying to be Bellbrook’s first state champ and to do it is an amazing feeling,” he said.

Dayton Christian sophomore 132 Jacob Danishek claimed his second state title and some redemption in a 15-4 win over Lima Bath’s Zavier Meeks. Meeks had defeated Danishek in the district semis.

“This one definitely feels a lot better,” Danishek said after recording five takedowns in the title match.

Graham got titles from Ryan Taylor (120), Micah Jordan (126), Bo Jordan (152) and Isaac Jordan to win the D-II title by 91.5 points.

The numbers didn’t add up for Troy Christian in D-III, but Jordan Marshall (145) and B.J. Toal (182) claimed their first individual titles as the Eagles hung on for second place over Delta with 81.5 points. Applecreek Waynedale claimed the title with 104 points while Delta finished with 74.